True North recording Artists Bruce Cockburn and The Wailin’ Jennys were named as winners in the 41st annual Juno Awards (the Canadian equivalent of the Grammys). The awards were presented by the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) in Ottawa over the weekend.

A prolific singer-songwriter, Cockburn received his 14th Juno for Roots & Traditional Album of the Year – Solo for Small Source of Comfort, his 31st studio release. Other nominees for the award included Craig Cardiff, David Francey, Dave Gunning and Lindi Ortega. Last December, Cockburn received awards for Contemporary Album and Solo Artist of the Year during the 2011 Canadian Folk Music Awards.

The Wailin' Jennys

Western Canadian harmony trio The Wailin’ Jennys won the Juno Award for Roots & Traditional Album of the Year – Group for Bright Morning Stars. Currently celebrating its 10th anniversary, the group — featuring Heather Masse, Nicky Mehta and Ruth Moody — previously won this award, with a slightly different lineup, for its 2004 full-length debut disc, 40 Days. Its 2011 release prevailed over albums by The Deep Dark Woods, Good Lovelies, The Once, and Twilight Hotel. “Bird Son,” one of the tracks on Bright Morning Stars also recently captured first prize in the Best Duo/Group category in the International Acoustic Music Awards. Last fall the trio released a special six-song EP, iTunes Sessions, that includes its rendition of Cockburn’s “Goin’ Down The Road.”

Toronto-based indie-pop chanteuse Feist snagged the Artist of the Year award, while Vancouver-based folk-popster Dan Mangan was named New Artist of the Year and captured the Alternative Album of the Year award for Oh Fortune.