Regional finalists have been named in the 2013 Mountain Stage NewSong Contest. Ten regional finalists were selected from each of the six regions, and judges will select one winner from each, who will then advance to the live performance competition finals on Saturday, October 19 at New York’s Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

Additionally, the regional finalist who receives the most votes for his or her video on the contest’s website will advance to the October 19 finals as the ‘People’s Choice’ award winner.

Listed below are the regional finalists:

Northeast Round

Annalivia (Gloucester, MA)
Clarence Bucaro (Brooklyn, NY)
Hannah Hickok (New York, NY)
Julienne Dweck (New York, NY)
Queen Esther (New York, NY)
Still Saffire (Blauvelt, NY)
Susan Cattaneo (Medford, MA)
Suzie Brown (Ardmore, PA)
Tin Bird Choir (Pottstown, PA)
Victoria Vox (Baltimore, MD)

Southeast Round

Aaron Burdett (Saluda, NC)
Bella Innocent (Opelousas, LA)
India Ramney (Birmingham, AL)
Josh Threlkeld (Collierville, TN)
Nick Flora (Nashville, TN)
Nikki Talley (Brevard, NC)
Tokyo Rosenthal (Chapel Hill, NC)
Wes Casto (Nashville, TN)
Willie DE (Batesville, VA)
Yes The Raven (Hickory, NC)

Midwest Round

Count This Penny (Madison, WI)
Jacob Latham (Bloomington, IN)
Jake Armerding (Minneapolis, MN)
Jeremy Joyce (St. Louis, MO)
Lewis Rogers (Bloomington, IN)
Lyal Strickland (Buffalo, MO)
Mary MacAdams (Ankeny, IA)
Rachel Kilgour (Duluth, MN)
Wes Kirkpatrick (Chicago, IL)
Xoe Wise (Chicago, IL)

Southwest Round

Boris McCutcheon (Albuquerque, NM)
Brian Kalinec (Houston, TX)
Christina Osborn (George, UT)
Frank Martin Gilligan (Dickinson, TX)
The Hollering Pines (North Salt Lake, Utah)
Jaime Michaels (Santa Fe, NM)
Mikaela Kahn (Denton, TX)
Otter Creek (Salt Lake City, UT)
Ryan Kirkpatrick (Fort Collins, CO)
Victoria Celestine (San Antonio, TX)

West Round

Adam Brock (Portland, OR)
Brittany Mullen (Los Angeles, CA)
Ciara Elizabeth (Sherman Oaks, CA)
The Bottle Kids (Berkeley, CA)
R.X. Bertoldi (Everett, WA)
Sarah Gerristen (Redmond, WA)
Shani (West Hills, CA)
Taylor Jameson Clark (Portland, OR)
Tiff Jimber (Santa Monica, CA)
Yellow Marbles (Los Angeles, CA)

International Round

Breagh Mackinnon (Sydney, Nova Scotia)
Brooke Turner (Victoria, British Columbia)
Eddie Chun (Southampton, Ontario)
Glen Hornblast (Toronto, Ontario)
Jack Dani (Aurora, Ontario)
Jane Rahlston Pahr (Trieste, Italy)
Joanne Stacey (Revelstoke, British Columbia)
Morgan MacDonald (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
Nancy Beaudette (Williamstown, Ontario)
Sunny (Waverly, New South Wales, Australia)

During the contest finals on Oct. 19, a panel of music industry judges will select the 2013 grand prize winner, who will receive career-advancing recording and performance opportunities. These include, among other things, a fully-funded EP produced and mixed by producer, musician and songwriter Charlie Sexton; an appearance on National Public Radio’s Mountain Stage show, and a featured performance at Lincoln Center during the 2014 season.

“This is a unique opportunity for artists to work with one of the top producers in the industry,” said Gar Ragland, director and co-founder of NewSong Music. “And, we’re also proud to continue our long relationship with Mountain Stage. For nearly 30 years, they’ve been showcasing some of the world’s best music performers and songwriters.”

NewSong is an independent music organization that aims to build a supportive community of performers and songwriters across all genres of music and levels of skill, while identifying truly exceptional artists within it and introducing their music to a broader international audience.

“The Mountain Stage NewSong Contest has brought a lot of exceptional talent to our attention,” said Larry Groce, host and artistic director of Mountain Stage. He noted that, not only the winners, but many finalists have appeared on Mountain Stage over the years — including Ingrid Michaelson, Diana Jones, Antje Duvekot and Meg Hutchinson. “The fact that the contestants are judged by their songs as well as their performances equally makes it very appealing to us,” Groce added.

Although the regional finalists have already been named, songwriters have until Sept. 15 to submit songs in a general round at Submissions start at $35 per song, with discounts for multiple submissions and members of songwriting organizations.